Live Wire

On my way to work the other day, I saw a telephone wire hanging down.  On the end of it looked like a black box which is probably important for connecting it back together.  In an instant, my thoughts drifted to would I be dumb enough to go touch that wire? It looked like it was inviting me to just tap it and cause it to swing or hold onto it for closer inspection but no…I wouldn’t just touch it because I know it could be dangerous. It could kill me. Death by electrocution doesn’t seem so great. I paralleled these thoughts with my internal struggles. Ever have something that just begs you to pay attention a little more or to fix your thoughts on something you shouldn’t be? I have been doing exactly that lately. I hear my conscience warning me to not think or feel the things I do but the temptation was there. The temptation dangled before me just like the wire did. I was able to see my thoughts as a live wire. It would be stupid to do something that could cause me to fall. 2 Corinthians 10:5 says, “We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” Does that say one thought or some thoughts? No, it says every thought. My thoughts have not been pleasant lately and I pray that God will take them and replace them with His. I pray that I will know Him and feel His presence over me rather than the nonsense I feel. If you feel exposed to any live wires in your life, please know that you are not alone. If there are things in your life that keep torturing you or grabbing your thoughts, please consider giving them to Jesus. Over and over again…give them to Jesus. Give Him your worries and stress, your sin and your shame…He cares for you so much and loves you so much. He is the only One who can give us peace. I pray for His peace for you today. Feel His mercy and grace.

 

Leave a comment